Board of Directors


CISCC is governed by an independent board made up of representatives from county agencies, the schools, the community college, county government, social agencies, and businesses. The CISCC program is viewed as a community program addressing community problems.  In 1989, the board was the beginning of a partnership between business leaders and the public schools that has grown into a model of collaboration in the state of North Carolina.

A special thanks to all board members who came before and serve now for the vision of building a community of support through CISCC.

Communities In Schools of Caldwell County Board of Directors 2018:

Almquist, Terese – Retired Publisher, News Topic

Anders, Sterling – Nationwide Agency President

Bernhardt, G. Alex Sr.  –  Bernhardt Furniture Co., Chairman and CEO

Bumgarner, Chris –  Sergeant, Lenoir Police Dept.

Carpenter, Marc  –  Broyhill Furniture Industries, HR Director

Chase, Rahn  –  First Citizens Bank, Vice President

Craymer, Pete – CO/CFO Bernhardt Furniture

Darsie, Dottie  –  Caldwell County Schools Board Member

Daughtridge, Alvin  –  Fairfield Chair Company, Vice President

Dyer, Max  –  Kincaid Furniture – CIS President

Edwards, Donald  –  Vice President, Great State Bank 

Fernandez, Nelson Interpreter, Caldwell County DSS

Fleming, Denise  –  Health Department, CIS Nurse

Gibbons, BeckyRetired Educator



credit cards accepted