About CIS Caldwell

Our Mission

The mission of Communities In Schools of Caldwell County is to provide a safe nurturing environment where students are connected to community resources and supported to achieve academic success.

Our Vision

Every child in Caldwell County Schools will graduate, be globally competitive and prepared for life in the 21st Century.

Our Values

  • Provide one-on-one relationships with caring adult mentors and/or role models
  • Provide community involvement and engagement
  • Provide a safe learning environment
  • Provide referrals to community resources for physical and mental health
  • Provide hands-on career and educational opportunities

Board of Directors

CISCC is governed by an independent board made up of representatives from county agencies, the schools, the community college, county government, social agencies, and businesses. The CISCC program is viewed as a community program addressing community problems.  In 1989, the board was the beginning of a partnership between business leaders and the public schools that has grown into a model of collaboration in the state of North Carolina.

A special thanks to all board members who came before and serve now for the vision of building a community of support through CISCC.

Communities In Schools of Caldwell County Board of Directors 2018:


Max Dyer, V.P. Laz-Y-Boy, Board Chair

Barry Hayes, Hayes Chemical, Board VP

Danette Landrum, Blue Ridge Energy Accounting, Board Secretary

Pete Craymer, Retired, Board Treasurer

Terese Almquist, Retired

Sterling Anders, Nationwide Insurance

Sgt. Chris Bumgarner, Lenoir Police Department

Rahn Chase, V.P. First Citizens Bank

David Colwell, Caldwell County School Principal, HHS

Dottie Darsie, Retired

Alvin Daughtridge, Retired

Don Edwards, V.P. Great State Bank

Kenvian Ferguson, The Property Shop

Nelson Fernandez, Department of Social Services Interpreter

Denise Fleming, Caldwell County Health Department

John Francis, Executive Director Helping Hands Clinic

Becky Gibbons, Retire Educator

Scott Hildebran, Lenoir City Manager

Darrell Keener, CPA at FCFCP

Stan Kiser, Caldwell County Manager

Mike LaBrose, Caldwell County Commissioner

Dr. Mark Poarch, President at CCC&TI

Dr. Don Phipps, Superintendent of Caldwell County Schools

Deborah Smith, UNC Caldwell healthcare

Katie Tocci, Executive Director Teacher Treasurers

Dr. John Thuss, Retired Veterinarian

Lisa Vaughn, Caldwell County Schools Principal, WLMS

Will Wakefield, Director of Caldwell County Department of Social Services

CIS Caldwell Staff

Debbie Eller – Executive Director

Dana Rosario Director of Volunteer and Community Relations

Kelly HeltonProgram Director of Middle Schools/Data Manager


Site Coordinators:

Kelly Helton Gamewell Middle School

DJ (Dennis) Brown Granite Falls Middle School

Cherlene  Siraton Hudson Middle School

Lindsay Hallead William Lenoir Middle School

Connie Christian Hibriten High School

Cherry Moss South Caldwell High School

Jackie Gurnsey West Caldwell High School


Social Workers:

Janie Mangum  –  GMS, GFMS, HMS, SCHS 

Eddie Peoples – GMS, WLMS, HHS, WCHS